‘WAMBO’-STU-TER

11036641_10204146941382477_2292709741441367206_n

Let me tell you about Wambo

Stu, Stutter, Balozi or Bryo is someone I know from uni (Yes, I went to school) and he’s always had a passion for music. So when I got the chance to write for this blog I couldn’t pass up the chance to review one of his songs. I’m very objective in my reviews and I know all subjective people say that and trust me to sound objective but I actually am objective; trust me.

Where do I start? The beat? The producer did a number on this one. First time I heard it I got from one of the extras in the video, Ronnie; and to say the least I was surprised that I liked it. The beat sets the tone for a story about someone’s life. It’s mellow and gives you that, “Pass me the blunt and play me Renee” kind of vibe.

Stu doesn’t waste time in setting the pace, beginning with a story. It actually is a story, interesting, right? His flow is very simple and you get to feel every bit of his experience in the song. There’s a thing about tracks that sound like testimonials. Mr. Cheeks curved a niche for himself through his ability to talk through tracks. Nas did the same and is probably one of the greatest story tellers ever. In Kenya, we have artists like Rabbit who paint pictures in tracks like Dodoma.

So when Stu penned this track, I’m sure he didn’t know I’d ever write a review about it and mention some of hip hop’s greatest names alongside his. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying he’s in the same calibre but when something’s good you can’t take that away from an artist. The chorus makes it even more personal with the artist covering it hitting the right notes.

The video setting is also very simple and pre-empts a sombre mood set up mostly in a room and a cemetery. The ambulance scene could have been done better though, I saw you laughing at Wambo, Mr. Balozi. The interaction between Stu and his extras is commendable because for the most part, you can actually see them display the tone of the track.

Stu isn’t the artist that spits mad bars and incorporates lyricism in his music but on this track, he uses his strength; an easy flow to rope you in and keep you listening to his story. It was also bold of him to take the story route and not the party anthem way which is the norm in Kenya. He set a bar for himself which will be hard to up but if he got the inspiration to release this track, he can certainly pen another one.

Wambo was made for all audiences because it’s addressing an issue that affects everyone in society. I have to give it up to him for using creativity to create awareness about HIV. This has been said before and I’ll say it again, if you aren’t infected, you’re affected. So it’s your responsibility to create awareness about challenges the society is facing.Here is the link to the video. https://youtu.be/k6HBK-Lnyn0

Leave a Reply

