HIP THURSDAYS:’TING BADI MALO’ BY KHALIGRAPH FT KANTAI

 

KhaligraphKete mana ping’! Duoke mana ka! Ting’ badi malo! Be ung’eo! I used to groove to this jam like matatus to peak traffic. At the time, I barely knew what it meant but it just sounded right and I’m always right so it was only right that I follow my right.

A couple of weeks ago I wrote a piece and talked about how having Kantai back in the scene would be great. And not just having him back, in the industry, but back with a bang like it was a drive by. Well, let’s just say he did just that. Who else brought him out other than the don of Kayole? The man with the key to the Far East; Mr. Jones in the flesh.

Ting’ Badi Malo is what the Kenyan Hip Hop scene needed. Khaligraph is proving all his naysayers wrong and dropping dime after dime. Soon enough he’ll be dropping full sized bills on all these industry rappers. The track features the main man himself, Kantai and for those of you that listened to Kantai in his prime, you can understand the excitement.

The video is set in the hood, which gives it that hip hop feel we had become accustomed to where rappers would rep a hood. It clearly isn’t Khaligraph’s or Kantai’s hood but you get the drift. On this track Khaligraph addresses an issue which we’ve all been grappling with. Which city in the states did he grow up? Apparently, it’s not even a city, it’s a whole different country. The UK; United Kayole. The good thing about him addressing this topic is that he tackles it head-on.

He agrees the accent is fake but we all concur that the boy is minting paper from it. Kantai steps in the second verse and stomps it. It’s like he never left the business. I’m playing his verse on repeat so that I can rap along but my accent is a bit rusty since leaving the West a few years back. Yeah, I was in Western some time back.

Khaligraph owns the last verse and I can’t see any mainstream hip hop artist challenging him at any level. One, for bringing back Kantai who some of us respect for bringing a different style of hip hop to the industry and two, for never disappointing on any track. I’m just about to crown Khaligraph as the King of Hip Hop.

The production was done very well. You can actually play it at high volumes without the fear of portraying your speakers in bad light. Except for a few things here and there, this track is the bomb, like that effect in the last verse. If I were you and hadn’t listened to this track, I’d stop reading this and play it. Remember, what I told you about being right.

They make it, I rate it.

 

Leave a Reply

