HIP THURSDAYS: ‘NAIROBI’-JOHNNY VIGETI FT ABBAS & SATI

nairobi

For a very long time as a youngin, ugali and beef was almost my favourite meal. I hail from a region where your might is not in how many men you fight but how many plates you down. I once saw a man get a muscle pull because he tried to reach too far to get to the last bone on the plate. I have seen men reduced to tears because of the contents of a plate. I hail from Nairobi but I think it’s just my family that does these things.

Back to ugali and beef which I must reiterate was almost my favourite meal. It did however, become my favourite meal thanks to K-South who  taught me that a little kachumbari never hurt anyone. Abbas Kubaff formerly known as Jerry Doobiez is one of my favourite Kenyan artists. The guy has wordplay, lyricism and a presence only he can command. He’s like our very own Busta Rhymes,so covering a track he’s been featured on is a privilege for me. If you know Abbas tell him I need that 1K bread he was selling.

The track is Nairobi. Being a Nairobian, anything with the word Nairobi just melts my mutura into tiny pieces. On this  track is Johnny Vigeti, who is also mean with the mic and features Abbas and Sati. Have you heard Section 80 by Kendrick where the beat just takes you to some other level? Well, this is the same kind of track. Whoever came up with this beat needs to be recognized on Mashujaa Day.

Vigeti kicks off the track with some heavy punches and the K-shaka flow. Nobody does rap in Swahili in Kenya better than anyone associated with Ukoo Fulani. Vigeti doesn’t beat around the bush and addresses social issues, something the greater Ukoo Fulani fraternity did. I couldn’t help but picture the situation in Kenya from both of Vigeti’s verses. Vigeti gives you the drive to want to go on and not give up because of the level of corruption and struggle in Nairobi, which is being experienced all over the country.

The hook was done by Sati and my oh my does she have a mellow voice! I wouldn’t mind her making any kind of noise for me.  I’d never heard of her before but I can clearly hear her hook with the beat playing in my head. Well, the main man Abbas doesn’t disappoint one bit. He maintains his signature style and uses wordplay from the get go. I don’t know how to be excited but I’m excited for you if you haven’t listened to this track yet because you’re in for a treat.

Abbas has a way with words and paints a picture of the story he’s telling. I practically pictured every line he was spitting and it’s something you have either gone through or know someone who’s gone through it. The track is an embodiment of the rot that the system has become.  You basically can’t get without giving. It makes you want to join Boniface Mwangi if he leaves out the pigs.

This track has done what hip hop should do. It addresses social issues and makes you want to act or provokes you to think about the situation you’re in. Nairobi ni kuhustle but gava ndio inatuhustle.

They make it, I rate it.

Ted

Leave a Reply

