HIP THURSDAYS:’NISIKILIZE MWANANGU’ BY KAA LA MOTO FT MZEE NGALA

kaa

First of all, I’d like to apologize to any hip hop fan that felt offended at Taylor Swift winning album of the year when you barely even knew she had an album out. Congratulations to Kendrick Lamar, the cat is putting hip hop on the map; the African map to be exact. If you’ve had the chance to listen to To Pimp A Butterfly, which you should have, you’ve listened to These Walls. The track fuses melody and hip hop and you get a feel of how good music was before you were born.

Anybody that knows me knows that Bongo is not my cup of anything other than bitter medicine. I barely listen to Bongo music unless it’s force-played on me in clubs and public transportation. And on Saturday mornings when my caretaker remembers he still has Mwana FA’s unreleased music. I still don’t like Bongo music and it’s not because they lack talent because we know they have plenty of that. But that’s a discussion for another day. I had to get it off my chest.

I stumbled upon a track that fused Bango and Hip Hop and it reminded me of These Walls by Kendrick. I’ve mentioned Kaa la Moto before and I think hip hop from the coast is greatly slept on. Artists from the Coast always seem to carry a positive message in their music and this track is no different. Nisikilize Mwanangu by Kaa ft Mzee Ngala. If you’ve listened to music from the coast you have to know Mzee Ngala.

The melodic feel to the track relaxes your mind and takes you back to the days when KBC was the go to broadcaster in Kenya and at one time or another you had to listen to a Bango track.  I won’t concentrate on the stylistic devices used on this track because I felt the communication being put across by the artists is what caught my attention.

It’s a message I’ve always applied in my life, be ambitious but remain cautious. The artists tackle different societal issues and preach moderation in life. You don’t need to be flashy to make a point or have your face on any billboard to have an impact in life. Humility is one of the few virtues that are greatly ignored yet play a major role in molding your character.

Most people reading this post are probably between 18 and 30 and the assumption is that this is the age where you make or break your life. On the contrary, this is the age where you make mistakes and learn what not to do in your latter years. This is the age where you network and make connections that will aid you later on life.

So basically, feel free to make mistakes and atone for them. Have you ever heard that failing is much better than not trying? Well, it’s very true and this track is one of those songs that give you a multitude of interpretations you can apply in your life. Kaa chini, umsikize Mzee Ngala.

They make it, I rate it.

www.tedpot.ninja

 

Leave a Reply

