HIP THURSDAYS:’BRIKICHO’ BY FEMI ONE

brikicho

‘Brikicho! Banture! Brikicho! Banture! Nikuje? Hapana! Nikuje? Hapana! Haya, ni hivyo, nakuja!’ This is one memory I can’t forget. I was so good at this game (Hide and seek) I used to forget I was playing and even go home for lunch. These are what childhood memories are made of. Running down the street to go ‘tipo’ before the person seeking would; with so many absentee dads playing this game I wouldn’t put my prowess in my dating CV.

I first heard of Femi One in late 2014 or early 2015. I can’t quite put an exact time frame to it and I don’t know if she was around as a recording artist before that but I know she’s good. I give her credit for one thing; naming the track brikicho or brikisho according to how she pronounces it (I’m not here to mark her verbal skills). It’s nostalgic and anybody who grew up in a not so leafy area can relate to the intricacy and importance of knowing your hood in and out during this game.

The track has a heavy base beat to it. It’s somewhat the kind of tracks most Atlanta and Bay Area producers use on their tracks. I still don’t understand why she calls it brikisho and she put a ‘ch’ in the word, but that’s not for now. Her writing is amazing. I think her wordplay is amazing and she knows how to piece together simple words to make her flow easier to bump to.

The simple lyrics and her G aura make her likeable to anyone that likes commercial hip hop. Whoever directed the video cut down on cost but heightened on creativity. It’s a simple video done in one of those not so upmarket but very decent hoods and she’s the focus. Rabbit makes a cameo but the focus doesn’t shift from Femi One. A plus for the video. Never let another star look better than you do on your own track (I hope you heard me Big Sean).

I however feel, at some point in her writing she may have lost the flow of ideas or her ideas decided to play ‘Brikisho’ with her. The track is decent and for someone who hasn’t been in the industry for that long (I presume) she did quite well on this track. Some hip hop fans would have wanted her to have a different approach but that’s what makes this art; it’s personal.

You have to appreciate that this lady is stepping into a market graced by Nazizi, the late Lady S, Ratatat and the likes a decade before she came on the scene and she’s brought it her own style. As an artist she is carving out a niche for herself and given the marketing platforms available in this time and age, she has the potential to be a hit.

They make it, I rate it.

www.tedpot.ninja

Leave a Reply

